First Time Roach Owner!

PuppyMintMocha

Hello there!

I'm basically a complete newbie when it comes to invert husbandry! I'm a pet enthusiast, and own or previously have owned almost everything; dogs, rodents, birds, fish, farm animals, reptiles (well, only one so far), etc.. However I have little to no experience with bugs, but I will be changing that soon! In fact, VERY soon. I am expecting my first roaches to arrive in the mail tomorrow! They are Halloween Hissers/Elliptorhina Javanica. I'm very excited to test the waters of invert keeping, and I hope to try getting some more bugs once I get settled with my first roaches and am ready to add in something else to my collection. :)  I'd love recommendations for other beginner bugs, roach or otherwise. I love wacky-looking and colorful ones!

• Like 3

Welcome! 

Don’t forget the local wild bugs too!

On my wishlist:

carabid ground-beetles: long-lived predators, usually. Some are breathtakingly iridescent, but many are brown. Even 1-cm species can last half a year or more; have entertaining food fights. Brown ones can be fun to watch too. A few cool brown ones are probably in your garden right now 

Herbivorous true bugs: Many are filled with nasty plant chemicals and warn predators with beautiful colors. Harmless unless eaten though.

Darkling beetles (Tenebrionidae): Usually black or brown, but can have fancy shapes. Like carabids, adults normally long-lived. Do beware that many online websites think that the mealworm darkling (used as lizard food) is the only darkling. There are many species. See my article here https://sp-uns.blogspot.com/2017/11/misinformation.html

Since many of these are almost unknown to science it is wise to be cautious; however, the above all have many easy species to keep.

Edited by Test Account
More words