Sustaining a B. Dubia Colony and not running it dry

Ihaggerty1313

Alright since I'm new to this whole Roach board I've gotta say... There are a ton of fantastic looking roaches out there. I knew that there were many, many species of Roach but some of the photos are ridiculous. Awesome little dudes in my book. Too bad people focus on the few "bad apples" of this species of insect.

Anyway I am a man of many questions and in all seriousness I believe that's why I've had the success w/ my 2 favorite hobbies. Reptile husbandry & Fish & Aquatic plant husbandry. My favorite tanks are saltwater and in my opinion nothing beats a thriving reef tank.

However this is my first attempt w/ insects and though I know keeping B. Dubia is a simpler task than keeping other species I've had nothing less than a blast w/ them and best of all they are thriving and growing.

So here's my "mathmatical question". BTW before that, I'm personally breeding these as feeders for the assortment of Lizards that my partner and I have/intend on breeding. However people within my own little community have inquired about the B. Dubia and we're quickly spreading the word about them. We are picking up clients rapidly but also telling them not to wait for us and to get on the internet since there are many reputable breeders out there.

How do I go about properly breeding a self sustaining colony where I can rotate nymphs into adults and still have plenty for my lizards and other customers? I have 1,500 nymphs that are turning into adults daily. I'm guessing w/ a good amount of females there's a good turnover. Especially if they're having babies every 4-6 weeks like I've been reading about.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-Ian

I'm not sure I understand the question, but it seems your colony is thriving already?