My Hissing Cockroaches keep getting sick

DMarinel4

Hi,

I'm new to roach keeping. My first G. Portentosa I had for over half a year. Roughly a month ago I noticed her no longer hiding under her food bowl and just sitting out on top of the substrate. A few days later I found her lifeless with one of her antennae missing. Now my other female is starting to exhibit the same behaviors (except she still has her antennae). I'm worried I'll lose my last two roaches. The only symptoms that my first roach exhibited that always had me concerned was that she never ate much. I always had a fresh supply of cat/dog food in her food bowl for protein and occasionally gave her carrots, apples, oranges, celery, potatoes, or lettuce. She barely ever ate yet she always looked very plump. I figured maybe she was pregnant from the colony I got her from but like I said I had her for over half a year and she never showed signs of trying to give birth. The current female that looks sick also won't eat now and acts sluggish. Here is the setup that I have for them:

Tank: Two roaches in a 5 gallon plastic carrier
Substrate: Reptisoil 10 with some orchid bark
Temperature and humidity: Typically 68-71 F and sprayed down with water every day (tank is covered with damp cloths to keep in the humidity)

I'm not sure what's going on, or if I should be concerned at all. Maybe my first roach just died of some random complication and my second one is just acting weird. I don't know. If anyone has any tips or ideas, I'm grateful to hear them.

Thank you.

• Sad 1

Hi,

I replied to your introduction thread. But I'll reply here as well.

My thoughts would be try to raise temps 5 degrees or so and to increase ventilation. If you are worried about it drying out in there you can make a humid hiding spot. 

1 hour ago, Bhjjr said:

Hi,

I replied to your introduction thread. But I'll reply here as well.