B. boliviensis - B. parabolicus genitalia?

Zephyr

I'm no expert, but comparing this to Roth's diagrams, it looks like the B. boliviensis is what it is, whereas the "B. parabolicus" may in fact be B. atropos!

I need more opinions, please. :)

Blaberus boliviensis:

bboliviensis.jpg

"Blaberus parabolicus":

bparab2.jpg

"Blaberus parabolicus":

bparab1d.jpg

First photo came from the male on the left, second photo came from the male on the right. Both are from the same strain of "B. parabolicus."

normanddisc.jpg

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Zephyr

You did it!

Are these just "raw" genitalia or did you prepare them somehow? Roth discoloured them with a base (was it 10% sodium/potassium hydroxide?)...

I don't have an opinion right now but I miss the whole rest of the genitalia. Where are these spikes and the fine membrane also used by Roth for the identification?

You know, only one individual doesn't make the whole species; there are always variations not only in size, shape and colour of the "outer roach-surfaces". But on the other hand, two different genitalia from one strain might as well be a hint for hybridisation...

Grüessli

Andreas

Hi Zephyr

You did it!

Are these just "raw" genitalia or did you prepare them somehow? Roth discoloured them with a base (was it 10% sodium/potassium hydroxide?)...

I don't have an opinion right now but I miss the whole rest of the genitalia. Where are these spikes and the fine membrane also used by Roth for the identification?

You know, only one individual doesn't make the whole species; there are always variations not only in size, shape and colour of the "outer roach-surfaces". But on the other hand, two different genitalia from one strain might as well be a hint for hybridisation...

Grüessli

Andreas