New to the hobby...

Shawn H

Hi everyone,

I've been doing alot of research lately on roaches. I found that they were very interesting so I have decided to start a colony of hissers. I have a collection of reptiles that I will be feeding the overflow to. I'm completely new to breeding roaches but I thought it sounded more interesting and alot better then breeding crickets for many reasons. If anyone has any advice on starting a colony I'd appreceate it, specifically where to obtain the roaches. I don't really need a culture of thousands as I'm only looking to have enough to suppliment a couple monitor lizards diets with a few hissers every now and then for now. The roaches will be mostly a pet culture. Thanks!

-Shawn

Welcome shawn! I hope you'll find the roaches make great pets. Tiger hissers would be a neat one but you might never have extra for feeding. If you are looking for something that breeds pretty fast and is really neat I'd suggest one of the Blaberus species such as the very handsome Death's Head.

Welcome shawn! I hope you'll find the roaches make great pets. Tiger hissers would be a neat one but you might never have extra for feeding. If you are looking for something that breeds pretty fast and is really neat I'd suggest one of the Blaberus species such as the very handsome Death's Head.

Thanks for the advice, I'll definately keep it in mind.