New to roaches - can anyone give me a little info please?

Arco

Hi. I am completely new to roaches, have never kept them before. I will openly admit to having been one of those people who was more than a little grossed out by the idea of keeping and handling them. However, last week I went to a reptile shop with my partner to buy crickets for her Water Dragon and I was having a nose around.

I came across a tiny little unlabelled tub (same size as the tubs they sell the crickets in) pushed to the back of a shelf hidden away from view. Being the nosey sort that I am, I asked if I could have a look and the shop assistant told me sure I could look, but I would have to open it myself because there were cockroaches in there and she didn't like them. So I opened it and was fascinated by what I found. 3 large adults and about 20 nymphs of varying sizes. The girl told me they were "Deathshead Cockroaches" but the black splodge didn't look very skull-like to me so as soon as I got home I set about looking them up. From what I have seen and read, I think they were Blaberus Atropos - large, fairly fast, not at all shy, black splodge on the back of the head, almost clear 'bits' down the sides the whole length of the body... She said they started off with just 2 adults in there.

Anyway, it got me thinking... can anyone tell me more about these? How should they be kept, in what size colonies etc? And what do you do when they get breeding - how do you control the size the colony reaches? I would be worried about rehoming the 'surplus' nymphs because it's not as if there are thousands of people screaming out to own them.

I am very interested in going back for these little guys that she said just weren't selling but they didn't seem to want any more either. But I don't want to bite off more than I can chew and end up being over-run with roaches. Also, I would want to handle them and these seemed very fast - are they a good beginner species or not really?