Favorite "Beginner" Isopods?

FlamingSwampert

What are your favorite beginner isopods? I'm looking for a species after my a. nasatum colony died off. Ideally the species would be hardy, medium or fast breeding, not tiny, be relatively easily found, and tolerant of a wide range of temperatures and humidity ranges. For the humidity, needing a very dry environment is also ok.

Thanks!

7 hours ago, Allpet Roaches said:

I think the giant canyon line of Porcellio dilatatus is perfect; can get rather big with age and as hardy as they get.

Are they surface active? I heard they like to burrow and spend time in the substrate.

I just got my first Isopods on Tuesday. I got Armadillo Officinalis, and although I’m new to the hobby and it’s still early days, I think they are a fantastic species. They do like a damp end as well as a dry one, so I keep it at a pretty even gradient but they are extremely surface active and mine aren’t particularly shy either! They aren’t huge but they’re big enough to look at and enjoy.

My second choice would have been Dairy Cows. They look extremely active and very hardy too! I’ve seen a lot of beginners have those, they seem to multiply pretty fast too. 

I hope you find the right match for you!

9 hours ago, Deci said:

I just got my first Isopods on Tuesday. I got Armadillo Officinalis, and although I’m new to the hobby and it’s still early days, I think they are a fantastic species. They do like a damp end as well as a dry one, so I keep it at a pretty even gradient but they are extremely surface active and mine aren’t particularly shy either! They aren’t huge but they’re big enough to look at and enjoy.

My second choice would have been Dairy Cows. They look extremely active and very hardy too! I’ve seen a lot of beginners have those, they seem to multiply pretty fast too. 

I hope you find the right match for you!