Escaping male Dubias

darla

Hi all, I'm new to this. This site seems much easier to navigate for us new ones, so thanks for all the info! I have some ?'s if I may? I have about 200 dubia (not sure) lots of adults but more nymphs. I noticed several males that escaped. I have a lid on their enclosure so I wasn't sure what was happening. I noticed a few males out everyday for weeks, they soon died after I found them from cold I guess. I then thought I must have missed nymphs as I unpacked them from shipping. I ruled that out. I wonder if I have too many males and they fight and kick some of them out of the tribe? Just grasping straws here.

Hi all, I'm new to this. This site seems much easier to navigate for us new ones, so thanks for all the info! I have some ?'s if I may? I have about 200 dubia (not sure) lots of adults but more nymphs. I noticed several males that escaped. I have a lid on their enclosure so I wasn't sure what was happening. I noticed a few males out everyday for weeks, they soon died after I found them from cold I guess. I then thought I must have missed nymphs as I unpacked them from shipping. I ruled that out. I wonder if I have too many males and they fight and kick some of them out of the tribe? Just grasping straws here.

Hi Darla and welcome to the roach forums! Please feel free to ask any/all questions you want.... there are many people here who can answer your questions or give you various points of view.

My experience is that roaches always go to food and comfort. So you might take a look at what can you do to make thier home more comfortable to them and more attractive food items. Almost any species I keep seems to want to go to where the food is, the water is, or the right temps or substrate might be, so I try to make that in thier tub! However, I learned (the hard way) that this is not always the same for every roach keeper and you might consider:

1. Make one part of the cage warmer or cooler?