The Best Calcium Sources for Red Eared Sliders & Similar Turtles

bronxzoofrank

Hi, Frank Indiviglio here. I’m a herpetologist, zoologist, and book author, recently retired from a career spent at several zoos, aquariums, and museums, including over 20

Red-Eared Sliders, Snapping Turtles, Red-Bellied Turtles, Soft-shelled Turtles, Reeve’s Turtles and the various Side-necks and Snake-necks are among the world’s most popular reptilian pets. While we know much about their care, the importance of calcium in the diet is, judging from the questions I receive on this blog, still not fully realized by all keepers. One feeding tip I received from an animal importer for whom I worked as a boy has served me well throughout my career as a zookeeper, and remains the simplest way to assure adequate calcium intake. Today I’ll review it and some other very useful calcium sources. Read the rest of this article here http://bit.ly/1tUgQkd

Please also check out my posts on Twitter http://bitly.com/JP27Nj and Facebook http://on.fb.me/KckP1m

My Bio, with photos of animals I’ve been lucky enough to work with: http://bitly.com/LC8Lbp

Best Regards, Frank

Cuddle bone my friend =) is all you will need along with a healthy diet. Same thing you give birds too sharpen their beaks, that kind of cuddle bone just break apart and remove the hardback of it. I had several alligator snapping turtles, box turtles, and softshells. They all love that cuddle bone. It will float for a while then sink too the bottom. They will eat as needed. Give them a big enough piece that as they eat it will keep the turtles beak trimmed and they dont swallow it whole. It serves 2 purposes calcium and trimming of beaks(and yes turtle beaks lol.)