Roaches-The New Frontier

Hello everyone. I thought I would post a brief introduction. Always loved animals and despised roaches. Grew up in a roach motel, but then again they were German cockroaches which are somehow totally disgusting to me. I got into frogs and tarantulas recently and found that not all roaches are disgusting. I actually think quite a few of them are beautiful. I'd have to say so far Panchlora Nivea and whatever that one with the two white spots on the back of its head is are my favorites. Do tell me if you know what this one is.

I'm also an amateur insect breeder looking to branch out into discoids so advice is always welcome. There aren't any local discoid breeders and most roaches are illegal here so I feel good about my chances.

To sum it up, I'm definitly animal crazy and recently a little roach crazy.

Mikhail

Congratulations on your "conversion"! The roach with the white spots is probably a Lucihormetica species. Where do you live where most roaches are illegal? That's terrible! :(

I live in Florida. I haven't explored the legalitites on all species but I know that lobster, B. Dubia, E. Prosticus and quite a few others are illegal. Thank god that Discoidalis isn't as I think it will be a fair feeder, and I might get some Panchlora Nivea as pets as they have also been naturalized.

I think the legal issue stems from the fact that Florida could be considered a tropical climate where they could live. That's really only true of southern Florida though. I'm in Pensacola up at the top, and I've seen it hit twenties at night. Not that I'm an expert but I've always heard they wouldn't survive those temps. Oh, well I guess it is better for them to err on the side of caution for the environment.